ADVERTISEMENT

An Alumni Passing

Pesto Pirate

Sophomore
Dec 27, 2007
It is with a sense of sadness, but quite honestly more a sense of relief, that I want to inform my fellow posters of the passing of my Dad, Joe Silvestri, a very proud 1951 graduate of Seton Hall University. Dad fought a courageous struggle against a rare nerve disease for more than seven years that gradually took away his ability to speak and to ultimately move.

Next to his family and friends, Dad loved Seton Hall and it's basketball team more than anything that he knew. He attributed much of the success he was able to achieve in life, to the solid Christian education he received while at the Hall. He went to many basketball games during his years at the University. He was also there in 1952 when Seton Hall won the NIT at Madison Square Garden against St John's. As a young boy, he took me to many games at Walsh. After I graduated from the school in 1978, we both became long time season ticket holders. We were both charter members of the Booster Club. We both were able to experience together the highs and lows of our trip to the Final Four in 1989. One of the happiest and proudest moments of his life was when in the early 90's, as an assistant coach of the SHU golf team that had just won the Big East Championship, he was presented with a Championship Ring, at halftime of the St. John's game in which Terry Dehere broke Nick Werkman's school scoring record. From that day forward, that ring very rarely ever left his finger.

Dad was very proud of the fact, that five out of his six children, including me, also received diplomas from the University. Further reinforcing to him, the special nature of our school. Even though he will be missed by many, I know he is definitely in a much better place now. GO DAD! GO PIRATES!