ADVERTISEMENT

College Sports and the NIL

batts

All World
Gold Member
Jun 7, 2001
I realize that payments to players and their families have gone on for years, but the NIL has lessoned my interest in college sports. It is turning amateur athletics into another form of professional sports. I have been rooting for our Pirates since 1987. A Pirate win means more to me than any regular season Yankee, Giant or Ranger win. I am hoping that my rooting passion for the Pirates continues but the NIL has definitely has put a serious damper on things for me. I really appreciate what various individuals are doing behind the scenes to keep us in the competitive mix of things but how are we going to fare against the huge booster / donor groups of the Power 5 schools?

Shaheen has got me excited about this year's Team but I am worried about recruiting in the future. I'd appreciate your thoughts on the issue.

It's not the overall concept of NIL, it's the concept of fans/boosters collectives.
Agreed! Unfortunately, booster / collective activities are running unchecked because of the Supreme Court decision broadly admonishing the NCAA from restricting player compensation.

Reactions: mbraue
One major issue with collectives is that the money does not go to a targeted sport. Not just men's sports in general. Instead it is divvied up between all sports programs, both men's a women's equally.

One major issue with collectives is that the money does not go to a targeted sport. Nor just men's sports in general. Instead it is divvied up between all sports programs, both men's a women's equally.
That's surprising. You would thing that the collective money would go to major revenue sports such as Football and Mens' Basketball. If I were a major donor, that's where I would player compensation money to go.

Reactions: SOBO1